China, Beijing
Daxing Branch, Beijing Municipal Public Security Bureau
Self-driving police patrol cars (road test), supplied by Neolix
TrialJournalismPAI-3D398760
- Body
- Daxing Branch, Beijing Municipal Public Security Bureau
- Country
- China
- Area
- Beijing
- Technology
- Self-driving police patrol cars (road test)
- Supplier
- Neolix
- Status
- Trial
Being tested in live conditions under a time-limited pilot or trial. - Stage
- In use now
- Since
- January 2024
- Legal basis
- Not stated in the source
- Oversight
- Not stated in the source
- Evidence
- Journalism
Named reporting by a reputable outlet - Source
- People's Daily Online, 17 January 2024
- Last checked
- Record code
PAI-3D398760
Notes
People's Daily (English), 17 January 2024, reports that the Daxing Branch of the Beijing Municipal Public Security Bureau began what it describes as China's first road test of self-driving police patrol cars on 16 January 2024, in Beijing's high-level autonomous driving demonstration area. Fifteen cars developed by Neolix, described as Level 4, were to cover about 60 square kilometres around the clock alongside officers, with planned duties of patrolling, large-event security, public announcements, warnings and emergency rescue. The report is state media and describes a test; it does not say whether the test became routine service. A December 2025 article (Prime Business Africa, 7 December 2025) reports that the Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area launched a patrol system in 2025 with 18 Level 4 autonomous police vehicles and 15 conventional patrol cars fitted with AI tools, without naming a police bureau or saying whether the Daxing test continued. Facial recognition is not described in the People's Daily report.
Self-driving police patrol cars (road test) elsewhere in China
See them in the tracker| Deployment | Country | Supplier | Since | Status | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public Security Bureau (multiple cities)AI Autonomous Police Patrol Vehicles | ChinaNational, multiple cities | Not disclosed in available reporting | 2025 | Operational |