Brazil, São Paulo city

São Paulo City Hall (Smart Sampa)

Live Facial Recognition, supplied by Not specified in sources reviewed

OperationalJournalismPAI-4700D91A

Body
São Paulo City Hall (Smart Sampa)
Country
Brazil
Area
São Paulo city
Technology
Live Facial Recognition
Supplier
Not specified in sources reviewed
Programme
Smart Sampa
Status
Operational
In routine use by the named body, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
In use now
Since
2024
Legal basis
Not established in sources reviewed; Brazil's LGPD is the general data protection law but no specific authorising instrument was found
Oversight
As stated by the city: review by the municipal audit court (Tribunal de Contas do Município); a contract requiring periodic audits and security tests; semiannual transparency reports to the public prosecutor's office (Ministério Público). The city also publishes a live arrest tally outside the monitoring centre.
Evidence
Journalism
Named reporting by a reputable outlet
Source
Correio da Manhã, 20 October 2026
Last checked
Record code
PAI-4700D91A

Notes

Municipal (not police-force) live facial recognition across roughly 40,000 street, public-building and voluntarily-enrolled private cameras, alerting a monitoring centre staffed by police officers when a match against judicial fugitive databases reaches 90%+ confidence. Costs around $2m/month. Official transparency reports analysed by AFP show more than 8% of people identified and arrested as fugitives in the system's first year had to be released due to errors; most arrests occurred in outlying neighbourhoods among migrants from poorer regions. As of March 2026, roughly 3,000 fugitives caught via the system, with nearly 4,000 more caught in the act. The published 8% wrongful-arrest rate is the most specific error figure found for any live FR system's operator, more precise than the Met's 'one false alert' or BTP's 'zero true matches'.

Update, November 2026. Correio da Manhã (20 October 2026), citing UOL, reports that Smart Sampa data was exposed online for about 11 months, allowing improper access to images from more than 58,000 cameras, including in schools, nurseries and hospitals. The city government confirmed the leak but denies a flaw in the system, attributing it to "um vazamento ilegal de dados" by one of its more than 7,500 authorised security staff, who has been removed from duties while the Guarda Civil Metropolitana's internal affairs unit investigates; the repository was taken offline, and the city says it has added exclusive passwords and two-factor authentication. The city says the system is overseen by the municipal audit court (TCM), that its contract requires periodic audits, and that it sends semiannual transparency reports to the public prosecutor's office. The same article cites a CESeC study that found identification errors in early 2025, which the city disputes. No suspension of the programme is reported.

Live Facial Recognition elsewhere in Brazil

See them in the tracker
Live Facial Recognition elsewhere in Brazil
DeploymentCountrySupplierSinceStatusChecked
Rio de Janeiro Military Police (CICC)Live Facial Recognition BrazilRio de Janeiro state Dahua (car-mounted cameras) 2019 Operational