Japan, Japan (national)

National Police Agency (Japan)

AI analysis and prioritisation of suspicious transaction reports

OperationalOfficial publicationPAI-B3838FAB

Body
National Police Agency (Japan)
Country
Japan
Area
Japan (national)
Technology
AI analysis and prioritisation of suspicious transaction reports
Supplier
Not stated in the source
Status
Operational
In routine use by the named body, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
In use now
Since
March 2022
Legal basis
Not stated in the source
Oversight
Not stated in the source
Evidence
Official publication
Police force, government department or public body publication
Source
National Police Agency White Paper on Police
Last checked
Record code
PAI-B3838FAB

Notes

Established from the National Police Agency's own White Paper on Police, in the section on strengthening police capability through AI and advanced technologies. The page is in Japanese and was read twice in this run through differently encoded URLs; both readings gave the same sequence, and the second returned the Japanese verbatim: a demonstration trial from fiscal 2019 in which the AI was trained on reports filed by specified business operators and on the results of their existing sorting and analysis, followed by the sentence stating that full operation of the mechanism began in March 2022.

The system prioritises, from a reported flow of over 400,000 suspicious transaction reports a year, those requiring staff attention. It supports human analysts rather than reaching conclusions on its own.

This finding rests on a translated Japanese-language primary source. The underlying document is an official police publication, which is the strongest class of source the site recognises, but the operator should be aware that no English-language original was available.

Two further NPA systems described on the same page are deliberately NOT recorded: an AI tool for detecting regulated drug advertisements on social media, tested in fiscal 2021, and a system identifying suspect vehicles from surveillance footage, tested from fiscal 2019 with automatic vehicle detection added by fiscal 2021. Both are described only as demonstration trials, with no statement that either entered operation. A fourth item, age-progression facial imaging developed by the National Research Institute of Police Science, is research rather than a deployment.

Fields left out: 'vendor' is omitted because none is named. 'legalBasis' and 'oversight' are omitted because the white paper section describes neither. 'techSlug' is omitted because no catalogue entry covers AI triage of financial intelligence reporting; this gap is discussed in the report.