Turkey

General Directorate of Security (Emniyet Genel Mudurlugu)

Plate Recognition System (PTS) with average-speed violation detection

OperationalOfficial publicationPAI-B8FA2DFF

Body
General Directorate of Security (Emniyet Genel Mudurlugu)
Country
Turkey
Area
National
Technology
Plate Recognition System (PTS) with average-speed violation detection
Supplier
Not stated in the source
Status
Operational
In routine use by the named body, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
In use now
Since
Not known
Legal basis
Not stated in the source
Oversight
Not stated in the source
Evidence
Official publication
Police force, government department or public body publication
Source
Emniyet Genel Mudurlugu (Turkish National Police)
Last checked
Record code
PAI-B8FA2DFF

Notes

The Turkish national police operate PTS, a registration plate reading system, and have built average-speed violation detection on top of it. The force's own announcement of 28 February 2025 states that 80 average-speed detection systems have been installed across 15 provinces — Aksaray, Ankara, Balikesir, Bursa, Corum, Eskisehir, Karaman, Kayseri, Kirikkale, Kirsehir, Konya, Nevsehir, Nigde, Sivas and Yozgat — covering 4,035 kilometres of road, with enforcement beginning on 1 March 2025 after warning signage was installed. The announcement gives a planned national expansion to 468 systems across 54 provinces, and situates the programme in the 2021-2030 Road Traffic Safety Strategy and a Vision Zero approach.

Scope note. The source read establishes plate recognition operated by the national police for traffic enforcement. It does not establish that PTS reads are used for crime detection, watchlist matching or vehicle-of-interest alerting, and no such use should be inferred from this record. Turkish reporting and vendor material describe a wider City Security Management System (KGYS) integrating plate and face recognition, but that rests on supplier statements and is not recorded here.

Fields left empty and why. 'since' is omitted: the announcement dates the start of average-speed enforcement to 1 March 2025 but does not date PTS itself, which is older. 'vendor' is omitted: the announcement names no supplier. 'legalBasis' and 'oversight' are omitted: neither is established by the page read, which cites a strategy document rather than a statute.

Evidence base. A publication of the Emniyet Genel Mudurlugu, read twice through differently encoded URLs with consistent figures on both passes. Turkish-language source, translated here.