United Kingdom, England and Wales

HM Prison and Probation Service

Violence in Prisons Estimator

OperationalOfficial publicationPAI-4484068D

Body
HM Prison and Probation Service
Country
United Kingdom
Area
England and Wales
Technology
Violence in Prisons Estimator
Supplier
Not stated in the source
Status
Operational
In routine use by the named body, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
In use now
Since
2019
Legal basis
Not stated in the source
Oversight
Monthly monitoring of data and estimates and a formal model review every 18 months; redress through the prison complaints system, Independent Monitoring Boards, the Prisons and Probation Ombudsman, and judicial review or human rights claims (as listed in the record)
Evidence
Official publication
Police force, government department or public body publication
Source
GOV.UK algorithmic transparency record, HMPPS, 28 April 2025
Last checked
Record code
PAI-4484068D

Notes

HMPPS published an algorithmic transparency record (first published 28 April 2025) for the Violence in Prisons Estimator, which it lists as in production with no external supplier. It is an implementation of an Explainable Boosting Machine that estimates "the number of violent incidents that an offender in custody is at risk of being involved in over the next year", using age and measures of the person's assault history and time in custody drawn from Prison NOMIS. The record says it has around 2,000 users each month, mostly prison staff, who use it to identify people who may need extra support and to assess new arrivals, and that its estimates feed the Prison Categorisation tool, which supported around 50,000 categorisation and 83,000 recategorisation decisions between 1 December 2023 and 30 November 2024. It states that "There is always a human decision-maker involved in categorisation decisions" and that the tool should not be the sole source of information in any decision. PublicTechnology reported on 9 July 2025 that the prison service "first began experimenting" with such an algorithm in 2019, and the Ministry of Justice's Justice AI Unit page says the estimator has been available to all prisons since 2019.

Other systems used by HM Prison and Probation Service

Other systems used by HM Prison and Probation Service
DeploymentCountrySupplierSinceStatusChecked
HM Prison and Probation ServiceOASys offender risk assessment United KingdomEngland and Wales UK Ministry of Justice; technical support from Capita 2001 Operational
HM Prison and Probation ServiceAI language analysis of seized prisoner phones United KingdomEngland and Wales Not publicly specified 2025 Trial
HM Prison and Probation ServiceJustice Transcribe (AI transcription for probation meetings) United KingdomEngland and Wales — 2025 Operational
HM Prison and Probation ServiceRemote probation check-ins with AI identity matching United KingdomSouth West, North West, East of England, Kent, Surrey and Sussex — — Proposed