United Kingdom

Sainsbury's

Facewatch facial recognition, supplied by Facewatch

OperationalJournalismPAI-9C721353

Body
Sainsbury's
Country
United Kingdom
Technology
Facewatch facial recognition
Supplier
Facewatch
Status
Operational
In routine use by the named body, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
In use now
Since
2025
Legal basis
Not stated in the source
Oversight
Not stated in the source
Evidence
Journalism
Named reporting by a reputable outlet
Source
Retail Gazette, 1 July 2026
Last checked
Record code
PAI-9C721353

Notes

Private retail use, not police use. Sainsbury's trialled Facewatch at Sydenham and Bath Oldfield Park and had it live in 55 stores by July 2026, with plans for up to 150 more before Christmas 2026. It paused use at one store on 17 August 2026 after a customer was falsely accused of shoplifting. From July 2026 Facewatch's Crime Management Platform began alerting police automatically to repeat-offender matches across more than 125 retailers.