United Kingdom, Humberside (port)

Humberside Police

Live facial recognition trial at a port

DiscontinuedFOI disclosurePAI-02F87B22

Body
Humberside Police
Country
United Kingdom
Area
Humberside (port)
Technology
Live facial recognition trial at a port
Supplier
Not stated in the source
Status
Discontinued
Use has ended, on the evidence of a public source.
Stage
Withdrawn
Since
2018
Legal basis
Not stated in the source
Oversight
Not stated in the source
Evidence
FOI disclosure
Freedom of information response
Source
Humberside Police FOI response F-2018-01559, 6 August 2018 (copy hosted by Big Brother Watch)
Last checked
Record code
PAI-02F87B22

Notes

A Freedom of Information response from Humberside Police dated 6 August 2018 (reference F-2018-01559) describes a facial recognition pilot using three cameras, two static cameras owned by the force and one mobile camera owned by the Metropolitan Police Service, with a watchlist of 148 custody images of people wanted on the Police National Computer. The force gives operating times of about 3 hours on 13 July and 1 hour on 14 July 2018 and says the pilot's end date was 14 July. Nobody was stopped and nobody was arrested; false-positive and match figures were 'not currently held'. The force said it was in community consultation about whether to continue, that any new trial would be at a static location at King George Dock, Hull, and that it did not intend to use the technology elsewhere. The response does not use the word 'live', name a vendor or name the pilot location. The Grimsby Telegraph (undated online copy) reports that Humberside Police, with the Metropolitan Police, trialled facial recognition working with the existing CCTV at the port in Hull (King George Docks) on 13 June, scanning ferry passengers against a database of more than 100 people wanted in the area, and mentions a possible further trial in the autumn. The article gives no year, and its 13 June date differs from the 13 and 14 July in the FOI response (whose request was received on 9 July 2018), so only the year is recorded as the start date. Whether the force later resumed use has not been found; the Home Office list of forces using live facial recognition (December 2025) does not name Humberside.

Other systems used by Humberside Police

Other systems used by Humberside Police
DeploymentCountrySupplierSinceStatusChecked
Humberside PoliceBobbi AI virtual assistant United KingdomHumberside Salesforce (Agentforce platform) 2025 Trial

Live facial recognition trial at a port elsewhere in United Kingdom

See them in the tracker
Live facial recognition trial at a port elsewhere in United Kingdom
DeploymentCountrySupplierSinceStatusChecked
British Transport PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomLondon rail and Underground network NEC (NeoFace M40) 2026 Trial
Metropolitan PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomLondon NEC (NeoFace) 2020 Operational
South Wales PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomWales NEC (NeoFace) 2017 Operational
Essex PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomForce area Corsight AI (Apollo 4), with Digital Barriers 2024 Operational
West Yorkshire PoliceLive and Retrospective Facial Recognition United KingdomForce area Not specified in source 2025 Operational
Greater Manchester PoliceLive and Retrospective Facial Recognition United KingdomForce area Not specified in source 2025 Operational
Police ScotlandLive Facial Recognition United KingdomScotland Not applicable -- not yet deployed 2024 Proposed
Merseyside PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomMerseyside, including Southport and Birkenhead town centres — 2025 Operational
Thames Valley PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomThames Valley, first deployed in Oxford city centre — 2025 Operational
Northamptonshire PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomNorthamptonshire — 2023 Trial
Bedfordshire PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomBedfordshire NEC (NeoFace Watch), according to NEC 2025 Operational
Surrey PoliceLive Facial Recognition United KingdomSurrey NEC Software 2025 Operational