United Kingdom, Avon and Somerset
Avon and Somerset Police
Söze investigation analytics platform
TrialOfficial publicationPAI-5C53248C
- Body
- Avon and Somerset Police
- Country
- United Kingdom
- Area
- Avon and Somerset
- Technology
- Söze investigation analytics platform
- Supplier
- Not stated in the source
- Status
- Trial
Being tested in live conditions under a time-limited pilot or trial. - Stage
- In use now
- Since
- October 2024
- Legal basis
- Not stated in the source
- Oversight
- Six-monthly reports on use and take-up to the force's GSB (the decision does not expand the abbreviation); consultation with national bodies, the local ethics committee and the supplier; an AI statement aligned to the NPCC AI Covenant; data protection impact assessments, security assessments, data sharing and processing agreements, and NPPV3 supplier vetting with SIRO risk oversight.
- Evidence
- Official publication
Police force, government department or public body publication - Source
- Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner, decision 2026/002, 12 February 2026
- Last checked
- Record code
PAI-5C53248C
Notes
The Police and Crime Commissioner's decision 2026/002, signed on 12 February 2026, approves a final business case to procure Söze on a three-year contract with a one-year optional extension, moving it from an 18-month Proof of Value into business-as-usual use. The document describes Söze as an investigation analytics tool, initially designed for Australian law enforcement, that searches and identifies evidence across photo, video, audio and text, hosted in the force's own Azure environment. The Proof of Value is reported to have shown improved evidence discovery, a positive effect on officer wellbeing and reduced reliance on specialist resources. Approval is conditional on the 'AI figure' being 100 per cent before contract sign-off and on decision gateways being built in. A force FOI response on AI technologies (reference 1159/25; request dated 5 September 2025, response undated) lists Söze as used in proof-of-concept and proof-of-value contexts, with a contract from 1 October 2024 to 30 September 2025 worth 448,500 pounds, and does not name the supplier. The decision document gives no contract value or supplier. The status is recorded as a trial because no source shows routine operational use after the decision.
Other systems used by Avon and Somerset Police
| Deployment | Country | Supplier | Since | Status | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avon and Somerset PolicePredictive Analytics Programme | United KingdomAvon and Somerset | Built in-house | 2017 | Operational | |
| Avon and Somerset PoliceMicrosoft Copilot Chat (generative AI) | United KingdomAvon and Somerset | Microsoft | — | Operational | |
| Avon and Somerset PoliceRetrospective facial recognition (Police National Database search) | United KingdomAvon and Somerset | — | — | Operational |
Söze investigation analytics platform elsewhere in United Kingdom
See them in the tracker| Deployment | Country | Supplier | Since | Status | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| East Midlands Special Operations Unit (EMSOU)Police Data Integration and Link Analysis Platforms | United KingdomEast Midlands | Palantir Technologies | 2024 | Discontinued | |
| Bedfordshire PolicePolice Data Integration and Link Analysis Platforms | United KingdomBedfordshire | Palantir Technologies | 2023 | Trial | |
| Metropolitan PolicePolice Data Integration and Link Analysis Platforms | United KingdomLondon | Palantir Technologies | 2025 | Trial | |
| Lancashire ConstabularyPolice Data Integration and Link Analysis Platforms | United KingdomLancashire | Palantir Technologies | 2025 | Discontinued | |
| Cambridgeshire ConstabularyPolice Data Integration and Link Analysis Platforms | United KingdomCambridgeshire | Palantir Technologies | 2025 | Discontinued | |
| Hertfordshire ConstabularyProject Nectar (Palantir Foundry data platform) | United KingdomHertfordshire | Palantir Technologies | — | Trial |